No Wonder I Never Have A Clean House

Right now husband and I are both getting paid to stay home with baby (thank God for our Canadian parental leave program). Aside from the obvious benefits of having family bonding time (which I will hopefully write about in another post at another time) being home together has taught me a very important life lesson. Having and keeping a house clean is friggen hard!!

I absolutely love having a clean house . Who wouldn’t? Being able to walk from point A to point B without tripping over crap, knowing where to find things, having all your dishes & clothes clean etc. These are marvellous. But it is no wonder why since moving out on my own at the ripe old age of 17 (ok I was basically 18) I have never had a clean house. Right now for example, Jacob & Husband are relaxing on the couch together while I attempt to pump breast milk and write this.  Jacob is kinda fussy and insisting that husband hold/bounce him just right or he starts crying. Even with neither of us working we are always doing something. Blogging while pumping is one thing, I could hardly clean and pump. Jacob requires a lot of time and attention and since we are being paid to take care of him and you know we are responsible loving parents, we WANT to spend our time and attention on him.

Still, during naps or times where one parent is taking care of him and the other is cleaning we have managed to get the house pretty clean. There is no longer random coffee spills on the counter or dirty dishes in the sink. The floors are swept on a regular basis which means tornadoes of dog hair aren’t following you around the house. Getting it there wasn’t too bad, a couple good naps on Jacobs part and the house was clean. It’s maintaining this cleanliness that is so exhausting! There are only three of us! How do we possibly go through so much laundry? How is it every time I turn around the space by the front door is full of junk mail again? How is possible to KEEP a clean house?

Last night after dinner, husband fed Jacob while I put the rest of supper away, loaded the dishwasher, swept the kitchen, and wiped down the counters and table. This somehow took me like 25 minutes! I didn’t even touch the coffee table in the living room that is piling up with crap, or that basket of clean laundry that needs to be put away. I didn’t even look at the pile of junk mail accumulating or tidy Jacobs room which has some of his toys and books scattered about. Who has the time for a clean house? I have so much respect for stay at home moms period, let alone stay at home moms who manage to keep an immaculate house and have dinner on the table every night at the same time. This is a crap ton of work. I always see posts on pinterest like this…

e1b3ba421d0e3d7d47109093e106c6a7While I shamelessly post them, I just can’t keep up. I really feel like life is too short to worry about a few crumbs on the floor or wrappers on the table. Parenting has come really easy to me so far. Its rare that I am standing there wondering what the heck to do but cleaning. Man, cleaning is the hardest thing for me. I want so bad to teach Jacob the importance of being clean. I want him to make his bed and put away his toys and I try so hard to keep his nursery very neat and tidy. But this is one area where I am such a hypocrite. I am hoping that when we buy a house in the spring that it will be easier because we will actually have a spot for everything (at least theoretically).

I guess what all this rambling is trying to say….is that different things come easily to different people.  University statistics courses, living off a budget, or going through labour and delivery may be the hardest things ever for some people but these were all a walk in the park for me compared to just keeping a clean house. But by recognizing your weaknesses you can begin to strengthen them right? That’s the way this works? I promise I am trying.

 

2 thoughts on “No Wonder I Never Have A Clean House

  1. Oh, this brings back memories of when my daughter was born. She was a micro-preemie, and I worked at home. I was killing myself trying to do it all. I eventually figured out how to manage it all. It came down to having a good plan, and sticking to it. Feel free to stop by my blog and see if I can help you out. I’d love to tell you that it gets better, but it will be a lot of work for the next 20 or so years when they move out. You’ve got to learn how to manage or you will lose your mind. Its all worth it!

Leave a Reply

